Beauty in simplicity

The more you do something, the better you get at it. And while you don’t get better each time you do something, you do gain experience. Better is out there, and it is attainable. Sometimes you have to fake it a bit along the way, so what I’m still a rock star!

By Kevin Spencer (Flickr: Starman) [CC-BY-2.0 (www.creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons
I went for a great run this morning and started the day in an awesome mood. It was my first “chilly” run of the season; there is just something wonderful about stepping outside my door and feeling that first frigid blast of air. I love that feeling (but ask me how I feel about that frigid air in February when I’m training for the Disney Princess Half Marathon…).

I am trying to “chill out” a bit, so took a laid back approach today, I lingered in bed a bit before prying myself out of the sleeping husband’s grasp getting out there. As long as I keep my supplies (Garmin Forerunner 305, SPIbelt, iPod) together, I can get out the door pretty quickly. For the first time in as long as I can remember, I didn’t think about anything for an entire 32 minutes -it was a true escape. Usually, my inner monologue runs the whole time, but today I took in the sights. There were kids waiting at the bus stop, people walking their dogs or picking up their newspapers, squirrels scurrying around, crunchy leaves, and at one point and acorn actually landed ON my head.

Acorn aside, I was left thinking, this is true beauty. It’s a wonder all of those simple, everyday things happen at once. But the fact is – they do; it is true harmony. The world is an amazing place when you open your eyes to see it. I plan to open my eyes more.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

