The Opposite of Insanity

I am definitely a foodie. I like going out for dinner and finding new restaurants. But, I love meal planning, grocery shopping, and reading recipes online and in magazines. I have even been known to sit down and read a cookbook like a novel.

The last couple of months I have felt like I lost my cooking mojo, and that coupled with the fact that I wouldn’t mind losing a couple of pounds, has prompted me to try a little bit of daily eats style blogging. It might be temporary, but I’ll give anything a shot! I planned quite a few meals before going grocery shopping on Sunday and I’m really looking forward to getting back in the kitchen.

This morning, I packed breakfast to go. I made a quick english muffin sammie with a whole wheat english muffin, Teddie crunchy peanut butter, and a very ripe banana. I love Teddie peanut butter, it’s the perfect texture and it’s made locally in Massachusetts!

919-break

For lunch, I had a salad with spring mix, peppers, tomatoes (that I picked at a nearby farm over the weekend), and black beans seasoned with (homemade) taco seasoning. I topped it with HOT salsa instead of dressing, I love spicy food! I also brought a fruit salad made up of a diced orange and raspberries. I can’t believe raspberries are almost out of season!

919-lunch

Somehow, I made it through the whole afternoon without a snack. I just wasn’t hungry today! After work, the hubs and I made dinner together. I snacked on a couple of carrots while I prepped the veggies, he played with his new toy spurs.  They looked great on his boat shoes…yeah.

snack 

Another fun thing about cooking dinner with the hubs is that he poured beverages for us to enjoy while we grilled. Dominari was one of our favorite vineyards and they gave us an awesome tasting. This is a very fancy bottle we got on a great wine tour in Napa. It is a wine that is combined with 90 proof brandy and aged for 10 years!  It is sweet and has a lot of caramel undertones, a tiny pour is just perfect.

drink

Dinner was great, I had grilled Cajun swordfish and it was cooked perfectly. Hubs did an awesome job, check out those grill marks! One of these days I’ll learn how to grill, but for now I’ll leave it to the expert 🙂

P9190524

We also had roasted ‘taters and carrots, they were just tossed in a little EVOO and seasoning, and a salad topped with  Simply Dressed Balsamic, a little parmesan, and a couple croutons for some crunch. This is my new favorite dressing, it is so flavorful!

P9190526

I had a good workout on the Elliptical after dinner, Jillian yelled at me for 45 minutes. I’m not sure how motivating she is, but I love that the SD cards are pre-programmed to adjust the resistance.

Time to finish catching up on new TV shows. I’m not sure what I think of the new Two and a Half Men, but I can’t wait to see who wins Hell’s Kitchen!

Quote of the day: “The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results”. – Albert Einstein

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

