New Mantra

Sometimes, when I’m caught up in the thick of life, I forget that everything is relative. Just because my best isn’t the same as someone else’s or maybe not even the same as my best last year, or 5 years ago, it’s still my best. It still means something. It is enough.

I went for a run yesterday morning, I was pretty thrilled that I only had to stop and walk once. I wanted to stop a few times, but I kept going – pushing through the uncomfortableness (yup, that’s a word) is the only way to get better. After about a mile and a half, I looked at my watch and gave myself 70 seconds to walk. I caught my breath just enough to forget how uncomfortable I was, and then I started again. Somehow I made it all the way back home without stopping again. For me, lately, this was a small miracle. Usually, I tire out faster on the way back. Usually, I have to walk again.

When I got home, I took a look at my splits 10:09, 10:50, 10:02 (avg pace 10:21/mi) and I was kind of down about them. I thought I used to be faster! Why am I so slow? I ran some of my long runs at this pace last Spring. But, just for the hell of it , I scrolled through my Garmin for a few minutes to see when the last time I ran at this pace was…May. Ok, so this is the fastest I’ve run since May…and I only walked once. Alright, maybe that’s pretty cool. Maybe I’m happy about that after all.

I’m not proud that my kneejerk reaction was to be negative, but I think the fact that I can identify that this wasn’t a healthy reaction is a step in the right direction. And I think I’ve a new mantra, one that can apply to everything I want to work on:

Pushing through the uncomfortableness is the only way to get better

Breakfast

I whipped up one of my favorites for breakfast, an egg and cheese on a whole wheat English muffin, covered with crushed red pepper and hot sauce. I love hot sauce! I had an apple too, these apples are from a local farm and taste so much better than the ones you find in the grocery store.

P9210004

Lunch

I made a salad with spring mix, peppers, tomato, hummus, & salsa and it was SUCH a disappointment! I thought I managed to pick out all of the soggy lettuce, but at lunchtime I realized that it just kept getting soggier after I packed it. I ate all the good stuff off of the top and then supplemented with a new Stonyfield fat free chocolate underground yogurt. They just redid their recipe and swapped out some of the sugar for organic stevia. It tasted great to me!

P9210012

Snacks

Picture more almonds here. I got hungry!

IMAG0176

Dinner

No pictures of dinner today! I was at my Dad’s and I didn’t want to seem like a goofball. Dinner was really good though. We had “Monterey Chicken” (BBQ grilled chicken topped with crumbled bacon, tomatoes, scallions, and shredded Monterey jack cheese), salad, and garlic bread. It took some willpower not to consume multiple pieces of garlic bread, but I managed – it’s just so good when someone else makes it! It was the right move though, since I did have a few vodker & seltzer beverages 🙂

Vodker > Garlic Bread

It’s always fun to relax and hang out in the middle of the week, it makes the week go by faster.

This entry was posted in Eats, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

