Thankful Thursday

I don’t know where the Summer went, let alone the last month. I feel like a Grandma saying this, but time really does fly.

Last I remember, it was May…I finished training for and ran my first half marathon. Then, the following weekend we went to San Francisco on vacation. It was such a fun trip!

P6010282

Suddenly, tomorrow is the last day of September and that means Fall has truly arrived. It is the season of pumpkins, foliage, tree tagging, apples, and the return of warm drinks. It also means Halloween and Thanksgiving will be here before we know it. I’m not a huge fan of Halloween, it’s alright. I like the “fun-size” candy and the little kids in cute costumes, but I could take it or leave it.

Thanksgiving on the other hand is my kind of holiday and the older I get, the more I appreciate it. Thanksgiving is about giving thanks for what you have now. It is about sharing a great meal with the loved ones you are thankful to have.

One day is great, but I think it is important to be thankful all year long. I’m going to start including a Thankful Thursday feature in my Thursday posts.  I think it is important to focus on the positive things in life – on what we have right now and not what we want. Here and now is what’s important.

Thankful Thursday

I am thankful to live in a place where I have the freedom to speak my mind. About anything.

That isn’t to say that I think people should go around saying whatever they want, actions have consequences. I’m just thankful we get to have the kinds of discussions that this affords us.

This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thankful Thursday

  1. Pingback: Thankful Thursdays – Hello 2012 | Faking It and Making It

Leave a Reply

