What I’ve discovered this week

In the last week, I’ve made some discoveries. I’ve found some provocative websites and I’ve done some thinking. Here’s what I think…

1. Blogging about what I eat on a daily basis isn’t very exciting or thought-provoking. It also takes away from time I could be using to write something interesting. That said, I’ve lost just over 3 pounds in the last two weeks and I think it has something to do with being more aware of the type and amount of food I’m putting into my body. I’m going to try to find a happy medium. Calorie counting just doesn’t work for me, so that’s out. It makes me obsess about food too much and makes me afraid to eat anyplace that I didn’t prepare the food. I have almost cried in restaurants because I felt making a choice was just too daunting, they all seemed wrong. At the end of the day, life is about more than choosing the whole wheat english muffin over the donut. Sometimes, I want pizza and a beer and I need to be able to feel good about myself afterwards without some software or a website glaring at me.

2. There is a difference between speaking freely and being a bully. And by bully I actually mean jerk or an a-hole. We have the right to write whatever we want, whenever we want, wherever we want. That’s all good and fine, but the difference arises when your words aren’t simply your own thoughts, but your cold-hearted analysis of someone else; especially someone you don’t have a personal relationship with. In this case, I feel that our civil liberties end when they start to interfere with someone else’s.

3. I don’t want to fit into the box (anymore). Most of the time, I feel like there isn’t anyone else who is just like me. I thought this was a terrible thing and I’ve blamed this on why I have trouble relating to people. But, when I felt my worst, a great friend told me that the way I feel, my overly insightful nature, and the way I question things is what makes me, me. It is so easy to get caught up in what people are doing and to question yourself, to want to conform, and want to figure out where you fit in. Life is simply not about fitting it. We are taught this as kids, but somehow the message gets lost along the way.

4. There are some really talented bloggers out there. The other day I came across a new to me blog. I found it via a tweet about a timely post, Blogging & Bullying, this was just days after I discovered the websites that rubbed me the wrong way. Katy covers quite a few topics, from social media to fitness, and she is so easy to relate to.

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

