My Furball

Tiggy, short for Tigger, joined our family of two as a tiny kitten, just over 4 years ago. In those 4 years, he’s added so much to our lives. I never would have guessed I would love a little furball as much as I do.

12-28 043_Tigger 3 weeks__August 07 

We arrived at the animal shelter shortly after a litter of 4 kittens was found somewhere and brought in. There were 3 light orange cats cozied up together in one corner of the cage, but off to the side and away from the others was the runt. His fur stuck up, his tail was bent, and he had the most pitiful meow – but once we picked him up, he was ours.

 Tigger_kitten_1 month_edited

We later found out that he was probably only 3 weeks old and most likely part Siamese. That’s why his ears are so big! Tiggy has a lot of characteristics of a Siamese – he’s really vocal, sits on command for treats, and loves to play in water. In fact, if the bathroom door isn’t latched well, he will sneak right into the bathroom and jump into a running shower!

Tuesday’s Eats

This morning, while Tiggy meowing at the bathroom door and plotting to get into hubs’ shower, I was making a quick breakfast sandwich using the microwave egg poacher.

 PA040042  PA040045

I cracked an egg into one side of the poacher with a teaspoon of water and put another teaspoon of water into the empty side, then I heated it for 75 seconds in the microwave. I don’t like runny yolks! I finished the sandwich by adding Alpine Lace Swiss, 2 slices of tomato, and freshly cracked black pepper.

For lunch, I had Mexican Quinoa Salad over steamed baby collard greens and later this afternoon I finally finished off the last of my Oikos Pomegranate Berry Smoothies.

After work I caught up with one of my sisters on the phone. She’s away at college and just started her senior year. Somehow, beer pong came up (they actually play with empty cups for fun) and I realized I’ve never played that before. Am I the only person who made it to 27 without playing beer pong? Did I miss out?

After chatting, I started getting hungry! I had some pita chips and jalapeno hummus while I worked on my Fitness page for awhile. Then, I put together a quick dinner. I took a leftover chicken breast out of the freezer, added some vegetable broth, and thawed it in the microwave. When the chicken was done, I shredded it and added some cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, cayenne pepper, and oregano. While the chicken was cooking, I chopped up some tomatoes, peppers, jalapenos, olives, scallions, and lettuce, and piled it all on corn tortillas with some shredded cheese and hot salsa.

IMAG0186

This was a great combo and it came together so fast! I’m glad I got to celebrate National Taco Day, I didn’t even know it exited until this morning.

I just tried out a new recipe for Chocolate Chip Banana Nut Pumpkin Bread! (Nice ring to it, huh?) If it’s a winner, I’ll have the recipe tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Furball

  1. Pingback: Buffalo Chicken Macaroni & Cheese | Faking it and Making it

Leave a Reply

