Chocolate Chip Banana Nut Pumpkin Bread

It looks like it rained again last night, but it is turning out to be another beautiful morning. There’s just a hint of chill in the air, which was perfect for driving to the gym with the windows down this morning.

I had a great treadmill workout today. I increased my speed gradually throughout my run. Unless I really push it, I tend to get tired and slower as I go. Today I decided to work on that and even though it was “only” 3 miles, I’m still calling it an endurance workout, since that’s what it is for me. Check it out if you are interested!

I know a lot of runners hate the “dreadmill”, but I actually love it. I’m an indoor girl and I like being in control. Having a water bottle holder and a TV in front of me isn’t too bad either. I would like to (hopefully) get a used commercial quality one as soon as we have the space to put one. I think the quality makes a big difference in how much I will get out of it, who wants to run on a rickety treadmill?

Breakfast

This morning I had a fried egg, over hard, with a slice of the Chocolate Chip Banana Nut Pumpkin Bread I made last night.

breakfast

Last night I searched the internet for recipes, but I ended up kind of winging it and came up with my own. A long time ago I read somewhere that you can substitute applesauce or pumpkin for some or all of the oil in a recipe. I always use applesauce in my muffins, but since I had a can of pumpkin open I decided to give that a try.

Chocolate Chip Banana Nut Pumpkin Bread

This bread contains no butter or oil, but it is still very moist and it it doesn’t have that gummy “low-fat texture” This bread is a perfect fall treat because it tastes good enough to make a great dessert, but it’s healthy enough to have a slice for breakfast as well.

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup  all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 cup mashed ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 large eggs ( I used 2 tablespoons ground flax and 6 tablespoons for water for a “flax egg”)
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup pecans, chopped

Method

  • Combine the first 5 ingredients, flour to salt, in a medium sized bowl and set aside.
  • Combine chocolate chips, pecans, and 1/2 tablespoon of flour in a small bowl and set aside (using flour prevents the chips/nuts from sinking in the batter).
  • In a large bowl, add mashed banana, pumpkin, and sugars and beat until the mixture is well combined; then, stir in the lemon juice.
  • Beat the eggs into the mixture. If using “flax eggs”, combine the ground flax and water and allow the mixture to sit a few minutes before using.
  • Use a spoon or spatula to stir the dry mixture into the wet mixture until just combined, then gently stir in the chocolate chip/pecan mixture.
  • Pour 1/2 of the batter into a greased loaf pan and sprinkle half of the chocolate chip/pecan mixture on top of the batter. Repeat this process with the remaining batter and chocolate chip/pecan mixture.
  • Bake at 350 for approximately 60 minutes.

One loaf yields 10-12 slices

PA050050This loaf was missing several slices by time I got a picture of it, but that just means it was a success!

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Breakfast Recipes, Snack Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

