Coming Clean

Happy Friday! TGIF!

I’m having a great day, it’s all sunshine and rainbows today (well, except for the weather).

But first…I feel like I kind of copped out a bit last night and should come clean, I mean why was I bringing up mirrors in the first place? Ohhh, because those thoughts – the ones about us not realizing we are enough – I have them. And I often have them when I’m staring in the mirror. I come up with things like “wow, I should not wear shorts in public”, “I need to workout more”, “yikes, look at my [insert body part]”, “Someone’s having another fat day” and my personal favorite, “Looks like I’m having a bad face day”. Sometimes, I just avoid looking in mirrors when  walk by, which doesn’t seem like a healthy behavior.

However, I am sane enough that I can step aside and reflect on this. For example, I know I’m only 8lbs away from the weight I was throughout high school (last year I was 20lbs away from it, but that’s another story), but even when I was at my lowest weight after having mono for 6 months – I had the exact same thoughts.  So, if my thinking about that is flawed, I can assume that my assessment of myself is flawed too. It’s OK for me to say I want to become stronger, faster, more fit – but it is not OK for me to keep knocking myself down. I deserve better.

Now, on to other things!

The rain was falling in sheets this morning! I opted for another Friday morning living room workout. I did 41 minutes of intervals on the elliptical, followed by 20 minutes of body weight strength training.

Elliptical Interval Workout I

  • Warmup – 4 min @level 3, 60 rpm
  • Speed Interval – 1 min @level 6, 75 rpm
  • Recovery Interval – 2 min @level 6, 60 rpm
  • Repeat Intervals 11x
  • Cooldown – 4 min @level 3, 58 rpm

Body Weight Strength Workout

  • Lunges (each leg) 15 reps x 3 sets
  • Stepups (each leg) 15 reps x 3 sets
  • Pushups 15 reps x 3 sets
  • Situps 15 reps x 3 sets
  • 1 minute wall sit x 2
  • 2 minute plank x 2

I love those stepups! I’m so glad Ashley introduced me to them, I must have been living under a rock.

On the way into work, I stopped at Starbucks for what has become my Friday ritual. I actually thought about skipping breakfast today, which I never do, but came to my senses quickly. Skipping breakfast is not accep

I think this will be my last Spinach Feta Wrap from Sbux for awhile, starting on Sunday, hubby and I are challenging ourselves to a little eat-in challenge until Thanksgiving. We might get an iced coffee or 2 out or cash in on our groupon stash, but we are going to try our best. We’ve been pretty good the last few months, but we want to try harder – especially on the weekends. It shouldn’t be that hard, since we both like to cook, we just need to plan better.

Today, the whole office ordered Chinese for lunch. I got the (unpictured) scheuwan shrimp combo with a veggie spring roll and white rice. I didn’t snap a picture and it doesn’t look like any of the ones on I found in an image search. It is basically cooked red peppers and onions with a few large shrimp all in a spicy scheuwan sauce.

I ate the spring roll and about half of the shrimp and veggies. I think it was one of the better options on their menu, the sauce didn’t seem at all greasy 🙂

Hubs is planning to make meatballs with our niece tonight, hopefully he will share his “secret” recipe with me so I can post it!

I ran around like a nut this morning because I wanted to clean up a bit and finish my fall decorating. I guess all it takes for me to get my act together is an impending (4-year-old) visitor.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Life, Workouts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

