Carpe Diem

Monday morning, I woke up ready to seize the day. I started off with a 4 mile run, which is the longest distance I’ve run since the beginning of the summer. I didn’t really plan to do it, but once I was outside I decided to just go for it. For me, running is mostly a mental game.

Here are some of the tricks I use to talk myself through a run

  • Repeat one of my favorite mantras, either silently or aloud
  • Count to a certain number –  I usually repeat this a few times until I get distracted
  • Give myself a landmark to run to – sometimes, once I get there I decide to keep going
  • Sing along with my iPod
  • Remind myself how far I’ve come – both literally and figuratively

I also find that it takes about a mile and a half for me to get into a groove, so I usually try to push through until then before deciding if I need to walk for a minute.

Breakfast

I planned to recreate my favorite breakfast wrap, but ended up going a bit crazy on ingredients. I gathered my supplies together and prepped everything to help it come together quickly.

   PA170156

I cooked some egg whites with spinach, sundried tomatoes, mushrooms, onion and feta before putting it all in a tortilla and quickly “grilling” it in the pan.

 PA170163

I wrapped it up neatly in some foil to take to work. My creation was a success! One day, when I’m not feeling as adventures I’ll have to try and recreate my beloved Starbucks Spinach Feta Wrap.

Lunch

Lunch came quickly, as it often does on Mondays!

PA170157

I made an awesome salad with baby spinach, mushrooms, black beans, garden tomatoes, cucumbers, feta, walnuts and honey mustard.

This was a huge salad, and I thought I did a good job including fiber, protein, and some fat in it – but two hours later I was really hungry. I had packed an apple and added some peanut butter from my work drawer to make a more filling snack.

IMG_0015

I had a lot of work to finish up in the afternoon, and this kept my hunger at bay for a few hours, but by time we got to hubs grandparents’ house for dinner I was starving again! Hubs’ grandparents just had their kitchen redone, so his grandmother was really showing off in the kitchen. We had Italian bread, fancy olives, salad with yellow tomatoes, stuffies and pasta with homemade clam sauce. It was a feast!

My brother-in-law and his girlfriend were there for dinner as well. It was really great catching up with everyone. Hubs’ grandfather has been really sick and finally seems to be doing better, I hope his progress continues at this pace.

Carpe Diem

The title of this post, Carpe Diem, holds a lot of meaning to me. My sixth grade teacher, who is also responsible for getting me interested in writing, used to write a daily quote on the board for us to respond to. One day, he introduced this phrase to us and fifteen years later I’m still thinking about what it means to me.

Something to talk about…

  • What does Carpe Diem mean to you?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

