The Weekend That Was – Part II

After running around all day Saturday, we decided to shut off all of our alarms and sleep in on Sunday. By the time we woke up it was well after 11am! I guess I needed the sleep?

I had planned on making breakfast at home, but nothing sounded good and we had errands to run. The hubs managed to talk me in to stopping at one of our favorite places, Seven Stars Bakery. I have to admit, I wasn’t very difficult to convince.

Breakfast

Seven Stars isn’t local enough for a visit during the week, but they brew the best iced coffee I’ve ever had – it’s cold brewed and you can really taste the difference. By time we reached the bakery, I decided to get a pumpkin walnut muffin. ‘Tis the season for pumpkin, and muffins are one of the few  pumpkiny treats that I enjoy!

 IMG_0005 IMG_0006

We decided to sit out on the patio and enjoy our breakfast in the sunshine. It was beautiful outside and the light breeze was perfect. Dare I say, it is finally feeling like fall? This muffin was delish, and I really appreciated the fact that it was a normal size. Jumbo muffins are so misleading, I prefer when they are sized for a single serving.

After breakfast, we had errands to run. We had a Groupon to use at The Meat House and we were planning to stop at a nearby Whole Foods to pick up a few bulk items, like whole wheat pastry flour and black beans, when we realized that we were pretty close to a Trader Joe’s that carries wine.  We decided to take advantage of that! We picked up a few bottles that were in the $2.99 – $5.50 range, as well as a few of our favorites including, black beans, romaine, avocados, and chicken egg rolls!

Lunch

By time we made it to Whole Foods it was getting late and we were starving, so we decided to get something from the salad/hot bar. I know we aren’t doing very well on our Eat In challenge, but we decided that the salad bar was our best option.

IMG_0008

This was my first time at their salad bar and I was pretty impressed with all of the options. I kept it pretty simple with spring mix, mushrooms, broccoli, tomatoes, and feta with a little bit of the buffalo tofu and black bean salad. I want to try and recreate their Oil Free Balsamic Vinaigrette, there was definitely something else in it besides vinegar.

Overall, I really liked the salad bar, but I can see how people could go a little crazy and end up with a really expensive lunch. We were trying to be good and were both able to keep ours under $5.

Even though we were just grocery shopping, hubs and I had a really great afternoon together!

Dinner

After running errands all day, I decided to keep it simple and make meatball sandwiches for dinner.

meatball sandwiches   PA160155

 PA160156   IMG_0010

We had some baked fries and veggies on the side. I also enjoyed a glass of Trader Joe’s wine, a Petite Sirah from California. It was good, but I think I’ve had fruitier Petite Sirahs – but I can’t be sure. I’m not a very refined wine taster, although I would love to learn!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

