Keeping it Real

Sometimes I feel like I experience a lot of two steps forward and one step back instances.

A few months ago, I was obsessing over calories and completely not in tune with my body. And while I feel like I’ve come a long way since then, sometimes things happen that make me realize that I haven’t come as far as I’d hoped.

This morning, I realized that the battery in my food scale died. I was mad. How was I supposed to make breakfast and pack my lunch without it? I needed it to measure the peanut butter in my peanut sauce, weigh out a serving of whole wheat noodles, portion my yogurt and nuts…and the list goes on. I freaked out a bit more than necessary, I tried to eyeball some ingredients, I used a measuring cup for the noodles. Even as it was happening, I realized I was being ridiculous.  As I ate my breakfast, I wished I’d used a measuring spoon to portion the nuts.

When lunch came, I was racking my brain trying to remember how much pasta was in one serving, was it a cup or half a cup? Briefly, it crossed my mind that if I had packed too much, I would get full…but I just couldn’t trust that thought.

I realize that I was being kind of irrational, but realizing that doesn’t fix anything – it just gives me one more thing to think about. In general, I’m a bit of a control freak 🙂 I like to be in control and tend to get anxious when I sense I’m (potentially) loosing it. As far as I can see, I’m just being a control freak here too. It’s food, I’m human – I should be able to handle this better.

Stupid anxiety aside, it was a day full of good eats and some exercise. I attempted a yoga DVD this morning, it was boring. I guess I’ll find another one to try, but I feel like yoga comes in two forms – boring and too difficult. I really want to like it.

Breakfast

I made a delicious yogurt bowl and mixed it al together just before I ate it. Maybe there were too many walnuts, but they were delish and I was full until lunchtime!

 

Lunch

I’ve been pretty bad about packing my lunch at night, but I managed to put a quick noodle bowl together. I used leftover noodles, a mixture of fresh and frozen veggies, peanut sauce, and peanuts.

I made the sauce in the microwave, so it only took 3 minutes start to finish. This noodle bowl was a nice change after a few days of salads.

Mid-afternoon, I had a snack of dried cherries and almonds. I suppose this is the raw version of almond butter and jelly? I think this combo would be good with a few chocolate chips thrown in.

PA190166

Dinner

Dinner was one of our favorites, Monterey Chicken!

I pounded out a chicken breast and cooked it on the Foreman grill, then brushed it with some BBQ sauce and topped that with a slice of crumbled (leftover) bacon, chopped tomatoes and onions, and a sprinkle of mozzarella cheese. For the squash, I just mashed up some of the roasted squash I made yesterday by heating it on the stove with a little vegetable broth.

A few hours after dinner and ellipticaling, I needed a little something else. I was craving cookies, but I didn’t want to overdo it at this time of night, so I took a homemade cookie out of the freezer and had it with a small apple sprinkled with cinnamon and a cup of tea.

PA190157 

Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day; begin it well and serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

