Waiting for the Sunrise & Veggie Frittata for One

You know that great happy, sleepy feeling you get when you decide turn your alarm clock off and go back to sleep? I was thisclose to it on Tuesday morning, when something in our complex’s utility room clicked on. And when I say clicked on, I mean it sounded like a train was coming through our bedroom wall.   It kind of sounded like a generator and it ran on and off all morning. Awesome!

I knew what I had to do. I changed in to my running clothes; since it was barely 40 degrees, I broke out my cold weather gear -pants, long sleeved tech tee, and a jacket. I packed mine and hubs’ lunch bags, filled water bottles, and got our coffee mugs ready. Then, I opened up the blinds and waited for the sun to show up. I’m not a fan of a post 7am sunrise. I’m also not hardcore enough to run in the dark.

It was worth the wait though. I rocked my run! My Garmin wasn’t charged, so I used the Runkeeper app on my phone. Assuming it was accurate, I ran 3.24 mi in 31:13 – which works out to a 9:38/mi pace. I didn’t take any walking breaks this time either. Once or twice I thought about it, but I told myself to keep going and somehow it worked.

I’ll have to try running with my Garmin and Runkeeper one day and see how the results compare.

Breakfast

My good attitude and I decided to whip up a great breakfast! Please pay no attention to the fact that I left it under the broiler about a minute too long – it was still delicious!

Veggie Frittata for One

Ingredients

  • Veggies – 1/2 to 1 cup of chopped veggies (raw, leftovers, frozen)
  • 2 Eggs or 1 egg and 2 egg whites (if using the kind in a carton 2 egg whites is approximately 1/4 cup egg whites)
  • 1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt (sub regular yogurt or milk if desired)
  • 2T feta or cheese of your choice
  • Pepper, Salt

Method

  • Lightly coat a spray a small, nonstick, oven safe pan with cooking spray
  • Add veggies to pan and heat until warm or cooked if using raw
  • In a small bowl, combine eggs and Greek yogurt, beat well.
  • Pour egg mixture over the veggies, tipping the pan if necessary to spread evenly
  • Cook over medium heat until the bottom and edges begin to set. Season with pepper and salt and sprinkle with cheese.
  • Transfer pan to the oven and broil until the top is set, 2-5 minutes (this depends on how close your pan is to the broiler, how hot the oven is, etc., watch carefully the first time).
  • Remove pan from the broiler (using a pot holder…I’ve made that mistake before) and allow your Frittata to cool for a couple minutes before transferring it to a plate.

There was a small amount of Greek yogurt left in the container, so I finished that off with a sprinkle of muesli. I think the Frittata would be even better served with a grilled multigrain English muffin!

Lunch

I packed my lunch while I was making dinner, which saved a lot of time in the morning.

This salad was made up of all the veggies in the fridge – romaine, olives, black beans, mini cucumbers, tomatoes, and carrots. I topped it with some Feta and Sabra Original hummus, and at lunchtime I added half of a small  avocado that I happened to leave in the fridge at work the other day.  This salad didn’t need any dressing, it had a lot going on!

Since I was super snacky on Monday, I packed a bunch of snacks to bring to work. I’d rather have too many options than nothing.

When I packed this, I knew the MoJo bar wouldn’t last until the end of the day. I was right. I guess I’m a sweet/salty combination kind of a girl.

After work, hubs and I had a couple errands to run. I may have consumed an iced coffee, however, there was no whipped cream this time. Small victories 😉

I dug into the baby carrots when I got home. I don’t usually buy baby carrots, but I got a huge bag of these to take to a friend’s place last week and they are pretty convenient to have around.

Dinner

Last weekend, we used a Groupon for The Meat House to pick up a couple steaks and some lean ground beef. Hubs was pretty excited that one of my Groupon purchases finally paid off.

While I have had meatballs a lot in the last month, I’m not a big red meat person. I don’t think I’ve ever ordered a steak in a restaurant, and I definitely wouldn’t cook one for myself if I lived alone. But, since I don’t live alone (thank goodness!), sometimes that other person I live with gets a say in what’s for dinner. Tonight was one of those nights.

We shared a NY Strip that hubs cooked on the grill (I later doused it in A1 sauce) and I took care of the sides, mashed ‘taters (I made them with milk & olive oil, which I discovered once when we ran out of butter), steamed garlicky broccoli and spinach, and a slice of a crusty baguette.

After dinner, I did some experimenting in the kitchen. I have had good results with cutting the butter in my chocolate chip cookie recipe in half and substituting applesauce for the fat in muffins, so I attempted to combine those ideas in a batch of double chocolate chip cookies.

They came out pretty good, but I was out of baking soda and had to substitute 2x the baking powder +  less salt to make up for it. I think I’m going to make them again with baking soda before I share the recipe.

I think they taste a bit like the Devil’s Food Cake Snackwells cookies my mom used to buy 10 years ago. I mean it in a good way! I thought those things were great (their ingredients, not so great).

image

Something to talk about…

  • Do you have any substitution “secrets” that you use to make your favorite recipes healthier?
  • SnackWells – Yay or Nay?
  • If you’ve never had SnackWells, how about 100 calorie packs?

As far as 100 calorie packs go, I think they are over processed and overpriced. I used to buy the Oreo thin crisps in college – those are NOT cookies. Not even close.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Breakfast Recipes, Eats, Life, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Waiting for the Sunrise & Veggie Frittata for One

  1. A Tablespoon of Liz says:

    That fritatta for one sounds so good! I love single serving breakfasts, as normally its just me who is eating it!

Leave a Reply

