Some Background (& Quick Roasted Potatoes)

I woke up wanting to run today. It was hard to resist the urge, but somehow I managed. I tried to focus on the big picture – I don’t want to end up injured. My knees have been fine lately and I don’t want to jinx it. Sometimes they get a bit sore or tight, but nothing major, and no pain when I’m running.

My joint pain history is anything but clear. I’ve experienced intermittent joint pain over the last 12 years, since I was 15. I even saw a pediatric rheumatologist for a couple of years. In that time, I endured a ton of tests and I was prescribed some crazy medications, but they didn’t provide me with 100% relief and I never got a definitive diagnosis. All the doctors ever determined, was that my pain was real and caused by inflammation. A few conditions were thrown around, but nothing ever stuck! So, when my doctor moved across the country – I decided to stop pursuing it. I had other things to worry about, like enjoying high school and thinking about college.

Over time, I’ve learned that I feel my best when I stay consistently active. I should note that my current doctor knows my history and has encouraged me to keep this up until I feel the need to pursue it again.

Anyways…I’m generally a 3x a week runner, sometimes I can get away with a bit more – but that’s what I’ve had the best luck with. Anytime I start seeing progress, I get excited and start running faster and more often. It’s only Wednesday and I’ve already had two good runs, my awesome 5K Sunday and a treadmill 5K yesterday! If everything goes as planned, I have two more runs planned for the end of the week.

Today, I took to the Elliptical. I did an interval workout to keep things interesting

Elliptical Interval Workout II

  • Warm-up – 5 min @level 2, 55 rpm
  • Speed Interval – 2 min @level 5, 75 rpm
  • Recovery Interval – 3 min @level 5, 65 rpm
  • Repeat Intervals 6x
  • Cool down – 5 min @level 2, 55 rpm

I followed it up with some push-ups and chair dips (3 sets of 15 reps).

I don’t know what it is about push-ups, but I just love them! I’ve decided that I’m going to give Caitlin’s November Push-Up Challenge a try. I’ve tried the One Hundred Push-ups challenge before, but I quit half way through. I think I maxed out at 28 or 30 in a row.

image

I’ve always been able to drop and do 10, even as a kid, but I’d love to be able to do 50!

Last night, I was not in the mood to cook at all and the only thing I wanted was potatoes. The hubs wanted to order pizza, but I held my ground! We ended up making burgers, a “traditional” beef burger for the hubs and a frozen mahi-mahi burger with baby spinach and avocado on an english muffin for me, served with quick oven roasted potatoes.

This recipe was my inspiration, but I needed something quicker!

Quick Roasted Red Potatoes for 2

Ingredients

  • 1/2 lb red potatoes
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 3 cloves of garlic, sliced thin
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • pepper

Method

  • Wash potatoes and dice into bite sized pieces
  • Place the potatoes in a microwave safe bowl and fill with water until they are just covered
  • Microwave potatoes on high for 3 minutes, then let them sit in the hot water for an additional 2 minutes
  • Preheat the oven to 375 degrees
  • Drain the potatoes, add olive oil, garlic, and salt and mix well to combine
  • Spread potatoes evenly on a baking sheet and roast for 20 – 25 minutes until crispy
  • Remove from oven and add pepper to taste

PB010275

Please excuse my ketchup to potato ratio, it seems I was using my ‘taters as a vehicle for ketchup.

What’s your go to easy, healthy, weeknight dinner when you don’t feel like cooking?

I’ll be sharing mine tomorrow!

This entry was posted in Life, Recipes, Workouts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

