Me vs. Myself

This morning, I was awake nice and early and I wanted to go for a run…but I also wanted to stay in bed. There was a mini battle between me and myself. Battles with myself are never fun, I always lose – even though I always win…It’s complicated!

Sometimes, staying in bed really is the best option. Sleep is important, and nothing can replace rest – but, you have to know yourself. For me, laying around in bed, thinking about getting up and being a cranky bump-on-a-log just perpetuates my bad attitude. I hate having a bad attitude and I wanted to have a good day, so I got up and out the door.

I knocked out just over 4 miles. The first mile was tough. The sky was gray and my legs felt heavy, and even though I didn’t have a speedy run, it did get easier – as it often does. It’s the choice to get up, to get out, to set a plan in action that is often the hardest part for me. Once I’m up and out there, I’m fine – happy even 🙂 It’s true what they say, you never regret a workout.

Is it just me, or are the squirrels huge this year? Does that mean we’re going to have a bad winter?

IMG_0466

On my run this morning, I was thinking a lot about attitude and the whole concept of happiness. I hate bad attitudes, whether they’re mine or someone else’s – I honestly believe that happiness isn’t something you just fall into – it’s a choice. You have to choose to be happy, and you have to repeatedly make that choice throughout your life. Sometimes, it is going to be easy and you’ll feel like it’s the only choice. Other times it might be harder, but those are the times that it’s most important.

Although I tend to get a bit moody sometimes, I’m a pretty happy person. I’m always laughing and saying something dorky. I love the little things in life and I appreciate all of the opportunities I’ve had so far, I know I’m lucky.

I’m a great observer of people, and I hate watching others struggle – especially when it seems like they are making things harder on themselves then they need to be. I wish there was a way to help others realize their own happiness and to understand that it is a choice, not something you just fall into.

Obviously, I have my own personal reasons for writing this. It’s just something I needed to get out.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Me vs. Myself

  1. Antigone's Clamor says:

    Some of the happiest people I know are the ones who have struggled the most! You are right that it is a choice, although it can be a difficult choice and require a lot of pushing!

    • I hate seeing others struggle, but I’m learning that I can’t control everything/everyone. People have to exist on their own timeline. Hopefully, greater effort = greater payoff in the end.
      Thanks for commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

