The Hap-happiest season of all – and yet another post about holiday eating

I’m not one of those people who gets their Christmas shopping done way in advance. I started right after Thanksgiving, and then proceeded to put off finishing until this week! Whoops. It wasn’t too bad out there at the mall last night, I’m not sure where all the crazy Christmas shoppers are – or maybe I’ve just gotten better at ignoring them. I’ve decided this time of year is too much fun to get stressed out over the little things.

On the gift front, it’s been pretty easy this year. I’m usually terrible at coming up with the “perfect” gift. But, once I came up with a few ideas, I actually had more ideas than I needed. Even for the hubs, and he is pretty hard to shop for.

I only had two mini freakouts – both involved cookies. I love decorating my chocolate peanut butter cookies with peanut butter chip drizzle. It’s pretty simple and I like the way it looks. This year, I had a hard time with it. I went through 3 ziplock bags and ended up running out of supplies to finish. I’ll probably make one more batch and hopefully it works out better this time. I will breathe, they are just cookies.

IMG_0618

My other very mini freakout involved watching guys decorate gingerbread men. I think that says it all 🙂

IMG_0639

Since I haven’t been busy shopping or stressing, I’ve really been enjoying all of the festivities, cookie baking and Christmas movies. My favorites are Elf and The Santa Clause.

elf_doctors_office

I’m a human, raised by humans. I still laugh whenever I hear this line.

santa_clause

The Santa Clause is pretty ridiculous, but I like it nonetheless. Tim Allen made a really great Santa.

Holiday Eating

I starting jotting ideas down for a post discussing the fact that everyone is bringing up how to control your holiday eating. Then I revised it, and then I threw it out. But, I’m still thinking about it and I saw another one this morning that I am on board with, so I want a turn at this too. Why not, isn’t that what blogs are for?

The fact that this has to be a thing at all kind of irks me a bit. I mean, I suppose I get it, but c’mon! Like people don’t have enough going on, like the holiday season is all about control, like our diets (as in the food we eat) take the priority in our lives, and that anyone who loses said control should feel guilty for not sticking to a plan of attack. I mean seriously, do we really need to navigate the buffet table? Those keywords are the ones that bug me the most – also, splurge, I cringe every time I hear it. I think this kind of language gives food too much power.

I’ve also seen other posts/articles that mention to remember that it’s a holiDAY, and not a holiweek, which IS much better than preaching control and causing guilt; but, that isn’t really for me either. While there are holiday treats to enjoy, I’m going to be enjoying them. Homemade baked goods and appetizers are my favorite!

It’s not like I’ll stop eating healthy food in between snacks and holiday parties.

IMG_0641IMG_0597

IMG_0635 IMG_0645

IMG_0622 PC070076

And it’s not like I’m going to blow off my workouts, I mean, as long as they don’t interfere with the fun.

IMG_0330 IMG_0159

I’ve learned from experience that it doesn’t make any sense to stuff myself silly. There is just no need for that and I think it’s something many of us learn eventually. Who wants to be uncomfortable when they’re trying to have a good time? The cookies, appetizers, and cocktails are not going anyplace. They will all be around again next year, and I could always make them during the year if the mood strikes.

photo

This cookie does not have to be my last cookie. (Is cookie ever really singular?) There will always be more cookies. I don’t need to get them over with in one sitting.

I know this isn’t rocket science, but, this way of thinking has changed MY perspective a bit. I started using this mentality with other things, like pizza, and most of the time it helps – although, it’s harder to apply this principle to things like chips and salsa 🙂

What irks you about the holidays?

This entry was posted in Eats, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

