Getting it together – A few simple goals for 2012

I sleep really hard. When I’m asleep, I am dead to the world. And when I wake up, I’m wide awake pretty instantly. I wasn’t always like this, but I’m loving it! Now, I just need to figure out how to get myself together faster in the morning. I think the answer lies in planning ahead.

Most of the time, I keep my running stuff together. Garmin, iPod, Spibelt. But I’m always scrambling to change into appropriate running/workout attire, find my favorite socks (probably in the laundry basket), locate a headband or visor, and gulp some water before I start a workout. I hang on to way too much stuff, but if I did a little dresser purging I bet I could figure out a better system. Keeping 10-year-old jeans that I love is one thing, but do I need a bunch of giant t-shirts, pj’s from 10 years ago, and way too short tank tops that I’ll never wear? Probably not. I need to reorganize my workout stuff and keep it organized – that way I can get up and get right to it.

I also vow to pack lunches and fill water bottles at night. We used to do this religiously a few years ago, but at some point it fell to the wayside. Morning workouts are great, I love having lazy evenings. I can do things like watch TV with the hubs, catch up on blog reading (I’ve been slacking in this area!), read a real book, browse the web, and tackle messy baking projects. It’s all well and good, but I need to get back into packing lunches at night. It’s such a relief when it’s ready to go. And really, how long does it take to make a sandwich or salad, pack up some leftovers, cut up some fruit/veg, or portion out yogurt?

I’m not much of a fashionista, so most of my clothes go together. My basic “uniform” consists of dress pants, a button down shirt, and sometimes a sweater. Once in a while, I replace the button down with a sweater or swap out the dress pants for jeans. Sometimes, I even coordinate with a contrasting tank top. I’m fancy like that. So, the main area for improvement here that I need to put my laundry away asap. I absolutely hate doing laundry, but when I do it I should at least follow though. The hubs does his own laundry 🙂 Thank goodness for that.

I’m going to get back on the meal planning wagon too. I haven’t cooked much this week. Sunday night I made homemade tomato soup (stay tuned) and grilled cheese, Monday was pizza made with my homemade multigrain dough, Tuesday I discovered a Subway gift card in my purse, and last night we dined on the 2-for-$20 deal at Chili’s (I had their new grilled veggie tacos) while wrapping up our Christmas shopping.

While it has made life easier, I love cooking! It’s my favorite, along with smiling.

I always look forward to trying out new recipes and I love making old favorites. Meal planning takes care of the “what’s for dinner” problem.

I got out of posting my daily eats, mainly because I found it pretty monotonous (and my eats are often boring) (although I still photograph a lot, just in case), but I think some dinner posts would be fun!

I have other goals for 2012, but I think I’m off to a good start.

In other news, I cannot believe Christmas Eve is in 2 days.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Getting it together – A few simple goals for 2012

  1. i need to try out your multigrain pizza dough! i usually buy some sort of premade version from the store. i like your new goals! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Thankful Thursdays – Hello 2012 | Faking It and Making It

Leave a Reply

