Yoga, take one…

On Friday, I tried my first Yoga class. I’ve done some dvds, on-demand, and random poses in the past – but this was my first attempt at taking a class.

The class I selected was Gentle Yoga, and I picked it because it was at a good time and sounded like something I could handle. I’m not flexible, I have no balance, and I’m pretty clumsy! I’m not being negative, these are facts 🙂

I arrived at class 10 minutes before it started and had no idea what to expect. As I peered into the windows of both studios, I didn’t see anything and wondered if the class had been cancelled…and then I realized there were candles lit in one of the rooms. I was super nervous and thought about turning around and going for a little run instead.

But, one of my goals for this year was to try a class at the gym and to try Yoga, so I decided to give both a fair shot and walked into the room. I introduced myself to the teacher and  got my spot set up with a mat, block, and strap.

The class was pretty small, there were only about 10 of us, since it was the day before Christmas Eve. I don’t have a lot to compare this to, but it was a really easy and relaxing class. My favorite poses were cow face and child’s pose, I got such a good stretch! I only almost fell over once, in hands and knees pose (not sure if that’s the formal name?). We completed the entire class with the lights off, which kind of surprised me.

Gentle Yoga was the perfect way to relax before the Holiday weekend. I don’t know when, but I’ll definitely be back for another class. I’m pretty sure there is a Hatha Yoga class offered too, I’ll have to see if it is open to beginners.

Classes aren’t always something I’m willing to work into my schedule, but now that I’ve tried one, I think I’m more likely to go back. I like to stay in my comfort zone and I tend to prioritize cardio workouts, but I know I used some under-worked muscles because my core was a little sore on Saturday morning!

Speaking of firsts, last week’s 7 miler, which I strategically ran the day before yoga, was the first time I ever started a run before the sun was up. I’m a big wuss, so this was a big deal for me. While it wasn’t a whole lot easier than the previous week’s long run, it was quite the experience.  The ground was wet and it was windy out there.

At least the moon looks pretty

Doesn’t it look like nighttime? Oh…and I almost ran INTO a rabbit. I was running down the sidewalk, getting ready to cross onto the appropriate side of the road and suddenly there was a rabbit, no less than 6″ away from me. I froze. The rabbit froze. Then, he hopped off the sidewalk and froze again. I got really nervous for him, since there was steady traffic – and I immediately crossed the street.

I stood there, watching him from the other side of the road, silently pleading for him to turn around and get back onto the sidewalk. Finally, after what seemed like forever, he hopped up onto the sidewalk and disappeared into some bushes.

This whole ordeal was nerve racking, I almost forced the poor rabbit into the street. I am extremely glad this worked out. Had it not, it would have been a terrible day for both of us.

On the up side, even though it was windy, it was around 45 degrees. No bundling up necessary! I wore my Cherry Tree Half Marathon shirt (for good vibes!), SHORTS, and my new sneaks!

Ghost 4 in PINK

I’ve been wearing the Brooks Defyance for the last two years, but I didn’t like the last update as much. Since the Ghost is neutral too, which is great for my super high arches, I figured I’d give them a shot. So far, so good!

I know there are a ton of people who run distances longer than 7 miles on a regular basis, but can I just say that 7 miles take a long freakin’ time?

I can handle a (as in one) midweek 5 miler, but the fact that I can and choose to run for over an hour will never cease to amaze me 🙂

 

This entry was posted in Life, Workouts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yoga, take one…

  1. I recently started yoga too! My first class was a restorative yoga class, and I loved it! Great way to relax. Good look in your future yoga classes. 🙂

  2. Amy says:

    I’m getting up bright and early to do seven miles tomorrow before work 😦 I completely agree — seven miles is definitely a long time to be running!
    Doing yoga is one of my new year’s resolutions — I’ve heard it’s super beneficial for runners.

    • Even after taking one basic class, I feel a lot more comfortable with it. I’m going to try a Yoga Download this week, there is one for runners! Just wait until you see what I tried on Monday 🙂 Very nuts, but very fun! I’m so glad I decided to step outside my comfort zone.

  3. Pingback: Eight is great | Faking It and Making It

Leave a Reply

