Thankful Thursdays – Hello 2012

Once upon a time, I wrote about Thankful Thursdays…and then, I stopped. Why, exactly – I do not know. Since it’s a new year, it seems like a great time to start them up again.

I’m thankful for a 4-day work week. Whoever came up with the idea of celebrating a holiday on the following Monday was a genius. We spent New Years Eve with family and New Years Day with friends; it was nice to have an extra day, just the two of us, to relax and un-decorate.

I’m thankful for Christmas candy. I think most people are in a hurry to get rid of their lingering Christmas goodies, but I am savoring mine. I’ve never been one for the gummy, sugary types of candy, but I love chocolate – preferably dark chocolate. I have some Lindt chocolates, Dove Promises, Hershey Miniatures – I even grabbed a bag of pretzel M&Ms (for 50% off!) to save for a rainy day. I always have Christmas chocolate around for months – Yay for moderation.

I’m thankful that I didn’t give up on my training plan this week. I got off to a slow start this week, and for the first time in weeks I skipped some workouts. Tuesday night, I considered throwing in the towel and calling this week a bust. Then, I reminded myself that something is always better than nothing. So, I didn’t workout 5 or 6 days this week…so what. I’m determined to get my 3 runs in (2 down, 1 to go) and I’m going to be walking around all day on Saturday.

I’m thankful that the coldest day of the week is behind me. Yesterday morning it was 7 degrees. Determined to run, I had 4 layers on top including a poofy vest (overkill), two pairs of socks, a hat, gloves and a neck warmer…but only one layer of running tights. I kept poking my thighs to make sure they weren’t actually freezing. The inside of my nose was frozen. Even my eyes were cold. But….7 degrees really makes one appreciate the 20s so much more. I’m really glad that the temps are going to be much higher for my long run and weekend plans.

I’m thankful that I’ve been able to enjoy good, mostly home cooked dinners over the last week. I vowed to stop copping out and get back into the kitchen and I’m happy to report that I’m doing pretty well with it. On Sunday, I made dinner at a friend’s house; Monday, I roasted a chicken with veggies and made cranberry sauce; Tuesday, I made a Mexican lasagna (using corn tortillas); Wednesday, we had dinner at my Dad’s; and tonight, we’re planning to do something with the leftover roasted chicken.

Roasted Chicken

Mexican Lasagna

I’m thankful for my wonderful, super thoughtful Hubs. He is awesome, the best friend and partner I could have ever asked for. He puts up with me, which can’t always be easy, supports and encourages me, and really makes me want to be the best version of myself. On top of all that day-to-day awesomeness, he planned a whole weekend to celebrate our anniversary. I’m excited! I have no idea what I did to deserve him.

I’m thankful for my blender. I love my small appliances, but this week the blender is really standing out. I used it to mash up black beans the other night (lazy girl’s “refried” beans), and this morning I opened up a new tub of Hershey’s Cocoa and made Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup Smoothies. Chocolate for breakfast never gets old.

Thinking about what I’m thankful for this week has put me in the best mood. I’m pretty thankful for that too.

This entry was posted in Life, Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

