Morning Frost

I’m running on less than 5 hours of sleep, but I am feeling pretty great! Finally, the weekend is within my grasp. TGIF!

Last night, I was pretty productive. I ran some errands after work, emptied the dishwasher, and did a ton of laundry. Oh, how I loathe laundry. I folded the forgotten batches that were taking up precious space in our laundry baskets and then did two more. Thank goodness our building has commercial machines, but I’m going to be in for a rude awakening when we get our own regular sized washer and dryer.

I got wrapped up in my chores and when I finally looked at the clock it was well after midnight. I guess time flies when you’re having fun…or something like that. It wasn’t all work though, at one point I listened to Grey’s Anatomy while I did my thing. Last night’s episode was very dramatic, there was so much going on at once. I liked the ending though!

When we started watching Grey’s over the summer, we watched on Netflix. It took us months to get through the seasons, but I liked being able to watch the next episode the same day or the following day. A week seems so long now.

I set my alarm last night knowing that I might not be able to get up for this morning’s run. At 5:43am, my eyes popped open, 17 minutes before my alarm. I glanced out the window and saw that there were snow flurries falling! I love snow, so maybe that’s why I woke up.

I switched up my route a little this morning and I had a great view of the sky lightening up. It was still overcast, so I didn’t actually see the sun, but it was beautiful! I wish I’d snapped a picture, but I’m very afraid of slipping. I probably look like a goof running down hills with my hands out, ready to brace a fall – at least I’ll be ready!

I love the way the bare trees look in the winter.

We don't actually have snow, but I still love my winter trees

I used to draw trees all the time as a kid.

I haven’t been reading poetry lately, but this morning Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening popped into my head.

Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.

My little horse must think it queer
To stop without a farmhouse near
Between the woods and frozen lake
The darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake
To ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sound’s the sweep
Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

(Frost, 1923)

It might seem random for this poem to just pop into my head, but, I was an English major. I took a couple of poetry classes and did a ton of literary analysis in college. I loved every minute of it!

On a literal level, the setting fit. There’s the snow, the quiet peacefulness of morning, the reality that it won’t last…and the “miles to go before I sleep” part was pretty spot on as well.

Besides the great imagery, one of the things I like about Frost’s work is that he touches on his struggle between balancing solitude and societal life. That is definitely something I can relate to, and what better time to think about this then on the road?

This entry was posted in Lessons from the road, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Morning Frost

  1. AmandaRunsNY says:

    I like that poem. I’m not an english major but it sounds pretty.

    • I love the way it sounds – The imagery is great and it is written in perfect iambic pentameter, which is what gives it such a great rhythm. I can’t imagine how hard it must be to write like that!

Leave a Reply

