I like carbs with my carbs.

It’s Thursday, it’s Thursday, it’s Thursday!!

 happydance

Woohoo and thank goodness. It’s been a good week, but I am just about ready for the weekend.

IMG_1432

The hubs, Tiggy and I are chilling out on the couch and getting caught up on season 3 of Private Practice on Netflix. There is so much going on – we are getting very into it.

I made us a lighter version of a White Russian for dessert.

For 2, I mixed 2 oz vodka, 1 oz Kahlua, and 2 oz skim milk with lots of ice and served it on ice.

IMG_1436

Earlier this evening, we had Crock Pot Bolognese from Skinnytaste.

Gina’s recipe was great! The only change I made was subbing ~3oz sausage for the pancetta because I had some leftover from another recipe that I made this week.

I chopped up the veggies last night, browned the meat a bit this morning and let it simmer all day long, about 9 hours, in the crock pot.

 IMG_1397 IMG_1398 IMG_1399

IMG_1403 IMG_1411 IMG_1421

Served with whole wheat spaghetti, a roll and kale

IMG_1424

Yes, I need carbs with my carbs! What is it about Italian food that makes us crave bread? I blame restaurants, they’ve ingrained this association of pasta with bread in our brains 🙂

At least I’ve discovered frozen mini baguettes and frozen french rolls – they are great for this purpose because you can easily cook enough for just one serving.

I didn’t workout today, but I should be stretching right now. Why is stretching such a pain? Especially when doing it regularly makes us feel so much better?

Since it is Thursday, sometimes known as Thankful Thursdays, I’d like to take a second to talk about what I’m feeling thankful for this week.

  • I’m thankful for pajamas. Seriously, they are just so comfortable. One reason I like working out in the AM is so I can come home after work, put on my pjs and chill out.
  • I’m thankful for the recipes I find on blogs. I get all sorts of inspiration from blogs, but this week I’ve been into recipes. On Sunday, I put aside some time to peruse the recipes that I’ve starred in Google reader, and I picked out a few. It’s nice to have a plan. This week, I made Stromboli stuffed with peppers, onions, sausage, and fresh mozzarella inspired by Lauren’s LatestGrilled Balsamic Chicken from Eat Live Run, and the Crock Pot Bolognese shown above.
  • I’m thankful for vacations! Our Orlando trip is coming up quickly and I’m starting to get excited. Vacations are awesome.
  • Speaking of vacations, I’m thankful that I’m going to get to run in Disney. I cannot wait to run through the castle. I’ve always loved that castle.

The weekend is thisclose!

This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

