Things that don’t matter and things that do

Maybe I’m the only one who does this, but sometimes I find myself focusing on the crappy moments in life more then the good ones. It’s hard to let go of things that I feel had an impact on me, but there comes a point when they just don’t matter anymore.

Since I’ve officially been out of college longer than I was in it, I have decided that that time to let go is now.

  • It doesn’t matter that a kid said I had a “belly” when I was 7. I’m letting go of thinking about my weight. 21 years is long enough to beat myself up.
  • It doesn’t matter that a girl in 6th grade loudly whispered to her seatmate about the way my behind looked in my coral sweatpants. I loved 6th grade and I was rocking those sweatpants, plus my husband is a big fan of the way it looks now.
  • It doesn’t matter that my best friend told me to get lost for good at a school dance because I was cramping her style. Although it can be awkward when it is happening, it is OK and perfectly normal to outgrow your friends.
  • In fact, it doesn’t matter that a lot of friends in middle school told me, some nicer than others, to get lost. Some people are in too big of a hurry to grow up.
  • It doesn’t matter that a high school teacher publicly humiliated me in front of a class, saying that after all she’d heard about me from a colleague that I wasn’t living up to her expectations. People don’t always live up to your expectations, it is life. Although I still thank god that my parents and admins got me out of that class.
  • It doesn’t matter that some of High School is blurry in my memory. Some things are better left a little blurry.
  • It doesn’t matter that a guy I dated for 2 months told me that I had “no personality” when we mutually decided to end things. People who matter don’t say things hurtful things.
  • It doesn’t matter that a college professor said some terrible things to me, making me really question myself. She didn’t know me, but sometimes, all it takes is a push to help you realize what you really want.

What really matters is that there are plenty of things that DO matter.

  • It matters that I’m in love, married to and spending the rest of my life with my best friend.
  • It matters that I have family and friends who know and understand me.
  • I appreciate that I have a relatively easy life. I just make it hard.
  • I know that I have good intentions and I like getting things done. I am pretty driven to succeed.
  • I think it is amazing that I can run a half marathon. I can do anything if I want to and work at it.
  • I know that I can’t control the world. It is a hard thing to accept, but it is a good thing since that would be a lot of work.
  • I don’t have to figure everything out before I do it. Life is meant to be lived daily.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Things that don’t matter and things that do

  1. trudyj says:

    I turned 29 in December and these same things resonate with me. Maybe that’s what happens in your last year of your twenties!

Leave a Reply

