Disney Princess Half Marathon 2012 – Part I: Getting There

 

I can hardly believe it is over, but I did it – I ran the Disney Princess Half Marathon!

As corny as it may sound, it really was a dream come true. For one, I RAN my second Half Marathon, which means that my first wasn’t just a fluke; and second, I kind of love the whole magical aspect of Disney. They sure know how to put on a great race!

We headed to Orlando on Saturday morning. We flew Direct Air out of Worcester, MA, for the first time, and had a really great experience. They are the only commercial airline that flies out of the airport, so check-in and security went really fast.

  IMG_1562 IMG_1563

We also got upgraded to first class, so we got big comfy seats with a ton of leg room and huge armrests!

It was a bumpy flight, so the upgrade was a nice distraction. My stomach was kind of in knots the whole time…about flying, about getting to the expo in time and about the race in general.

Once we finally landed, got our bags and picked up our rental car it was almost 3pm (insert more freaking out). The expo only went until 6pm, so we had to head straight there.

I’ve never been happier to see this sight.

IMG_1570

Eventually, we made it to the Expo at ESPN Wide World of Sports.

IMG_1578

I was really impressed with how well this race was organized, and check-in was no different. There was a lot of staff on hand to answer questions and they had a bunch of computers set up incase runners needed to print out their waivers.

After bib pickup and chip activation we were directed toward the Expo. I picked up my shirt and checked out the booths a bit. There were so many vendors and there was all sorts of running gear to check out.

I was starving and didn’t snap any pictures, but I managed to leave the expo with a few “necessities”.

IMG_1591

Yurbuds headphones (which might deserve their own post), a headband, a 13.1 magnet for my car and a package of Sports Beans.

IMG_1584

I loved these race bibs. Princess Lauren? Sure, why not! At registration we got to pick our favorite princess. Belle was always one of my favorite princesses as a kid, I shared her love of reading.

I also liked that they offered women’s shirts, they fit really well and even though they are white they aren’t see through!

After grabbing a snack and checking in to Disney’s Pop Century, we headed to Wolfgang Puck Express in Downtown Disney. It’s one of my favorite quick-service places in Disney and I thought it would be great for a pre-race dinner.

I wasn’t too hungry, so the hubs and I shared a Caesar Salad and BBQ Chicken Pizza

IMG_1599IMG_1600

and Crème Brulee for dessert.

IMG_1601

Back at the hotel, I set out all of my gear. It was a lot of stuff.

  • Tech tank top (Under Armour)
  • Running capris (Nike)
  • Favorite sports bra (Adidas)
  • Favorite running socks (NorthFace)
  • Sneakers (Ghost 4)
  • Headband, hair elastics
  • Garmin 305
  • Spybelt
  • Sports beans
  • iPhone
  • Headphones
  • Tutu
  • Wings
  • Race bib & safety pins
  • Breakfast – bagel & peanut butter, water

Then, I set 3 alarms for 3am and crawled into bed in hope of getting a whopping 4 hours of sleep.

This entry was posted in Eats, Life, Races, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Disney Princess Half Marathon 2012 – Part I: Getting There

  1. Amy says:

    This post made me both excited and terrified for my first half. Can’t wait to read the rest!

  2. Anne says:

    I can’t wait to hear more! I ran this race, too. It was my first half and I enjoyed it (well you know, except for that last mile when I was d-o-n-e.).

Leave a Reply

